the daily must-do’s

One of the things that I have made a point to do every night before I go to bed are called my “daily-do’s” and as I’ve checked them off my list every night for the past few weeks, I have found that my attitude has improved significantly, and I attribute it to these things.

  1.  Gratitude List.
    “The more you are in a state of gratitude, the more you will attract things to be grateful for.”  –Walt Disney
    Each night, I make a list of 3 different things that made a significant difference in my attitude that day.  Sometimes, this means a huge event that happened that would possibly change the course of my life.  Other times, I’m really grateful that the sun came out that day.  Whatever it may be, write it down.  As you seek out the good things in your day, your eyes will open up to see even more things to be grateful for.
  2. Learn New Things.
    “The capacity to learn is a gift, the ability to learn is a skill, and the willingness to learn is a choice.”  –Brian Herbert
    Someone once told me that ignorance is detrimental to growth because everyone you meet has something to teach you.  Every night, I spend a few minutes reflecting on my day and pick one thing I learned that day to write down.  I try to make it something meaningful and deep, but sometimes I learn a fact that I find incredibly interesting!  The other day, I learned that every cell in your body stores every memory that you ever make, and that was super interesting to me.  Whatever it is, always make it a point to keep learning.
  3. Look for Love.
    “Connection is the energy that is created between people when they feel seen, heard, and valued;  when they can give and receive without judgement;  and when they derive sustenance and strength from the relationship.”  –Brene Brown
    It has been said that love is the most powerful force in the universe, and I would go even farther to say that love is the single act that can change a life faster than any other action can.  The last thing I do at the end of the day is recount how I have experienced love that day.  This doesn’t have to be romantic love (although I’m not opposed to that, nor do I think many people would be!), but love of any kind.  Finding ways that you feel loved is empowering because feeling loved, heard, and valued empowers you to be the best version of yourself.  I have found that in recounting these experiences, my appreciation for my community of people that I have chosen to surround myself with has grown exponentially.  More importantly, I have felt love for myself more than before, and that’s a big deal.  Loving others and loving yourself are two concepts that exist on the same line:  as one part grows larger, the other will increase as well.  Connections with others is something that the world we live in is losing, and the more steps we take to strengthening our relationships of love, the stronger our appreciation for others will be, and the change we want to see in society will begin with us.  The other interesting thing that happens when we look for love–we are moved to love others.  When I feel loved by others, I want to show others that I love them.  (Again–this is a two way street on the same plane of existence).  It’s crazy how that works…

I hope that these are applicable things.  I know that doing this stuff has really changed my entire attitude and it’s apparent to not only me, but all the people around me have also noticed a slight difference.  My goal in life is to be the best version of myself that I can, and this list makes me better. Let me know if you see a difference as well.

miss e

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

